June 4 – August 22, 2016

Twenty Five: A Celebration Opening Reception Saturday, June 4, 2016
6:00 – 9:00 PM

Twenty Five: A Conclusion Opening Reception Saturday, July 16, 2016
6:00 – 9:00 PM

Main, 1878, & Brown Foundation Galleries

Twenty Five: A Celebration | Twenty Five: A Conclusion

This summer, GAC celebrated Clint Willour’s 25th anniversary as curator with two distinctive exhibitions.

Willour has curated approximately 4000 artists in 469 exhibitions for Galveston Arts Center. His curatorial expertise has been pivotal for artists, collectors and viewers throughout Texas. Highly respected for his excellent understanding and promotion of outstanding contemporary visual art, he has given exhibitions to countless emerging, mid-career, and established artists, some of whom have since achieved national and international prominence.

While his discerning eye has won him respect from the Art World at large, it is also his amiable character that has garnered admiration from all who have known and worked with Willour. Never a flatterer, his approach is consistently honest without pomp or pretension, resulting in remarkably curated exhibitions that reveal the true nature of the artist or artists involved. Galveston Arts Center is fortunate to have had Clint’s creative leadership for the last quarter century. We invite everyone to come and celebrate his accomplishments this summer with two exhibitions that honor one of our state’s most respected curators and featuring some of its most renowned artists.

Both Summer Shows are a retrospective of artists Willour has worked with over the past 25 years. Twenty Five: A Conclusion will feature Galveston artists who have been shown at GAC, as well as works by artists to whom Willour gave their first or second exhibitions.

Twenty Five: A Celebration includes works by:
The Art Guys (Michael Galbreth & Jack Massing), Chris Akin, Jane Allensworth, Helen Altman, Eric Avery, David Ayslworth, Nick Barbee, David Bates, Amy Blakemore, Lydia Bodnar-Balahutrak, George Bowes, Sandy Seltzer Bryant, Eugenia Campbell, William Cannings, Ray Carrington III, Dornith Doherty, Rackstraw Downes, Susan Shirley Eckel, Orna Feinstein, Tommy Fitzpatrick, Christopher French, Francesca Fuchs, Dixie Friend Gay, Joseph Glasco, Scott Gordon, Janet Hassinger, Joseph Havel, Will Henry, Earlie Hudnall, Jr., Pam Johnson, Jules Buck Jones, Page Kempner, Daryl Lauster, Lawrence Lee, Marie Leterme, Lance Letscher, Mary McCleary, Doug McLean, Robert John Mihovil, Devon Moore, Kristin Musnug, Mayuko Ono Gray, Gary Parker, Sarah Green Reed, Robert Ruello, Eric Schnell, Beth Secor, Ken Shelton, Al Souza, Gael Stack, Ann Stautberg, Luanne Stovall, Martha Terrill, Lillian Warren, Jean Carruthers Wetta, Dee I. Wolff, Ann Wood, and Sydney Philen Yeager

Twenty Five: A Conclusion includes works by:
Claire Ankenman, Bennie Flores Ansell, Judy Bankhead, HJ Bott, Kate Breakley, Keith Carter, Penny Cerling, Isabelle Scurry Chapman, Michael Ray Charles, Mel Chin, Alain Gerard Clement, Pat Colville, Nick DeVries, James H. Evans, Dennis Fagan, Piero Fenci, Curtis Gannon, Mark Greenwalt, Sandria Hu, Luis Jimenez, Lucas Johnson, Jean Karotkin, Michael Kennaugh, Jonathan Leach, Robert Levers, Jim Love, G. Paul Lucas, Lisa Ludwig, Antsis Lundy, Joe Mancuso, Ken Mazzu, Daniel McFarlane, David McGee, Marcelyn McNeil, Angelbert Metoyer, Will Michels, Mari Omori, Gordon Phillipson, Damian Priour, Burton Pritzker, Robert Pruitt, Nadezda Prvulovic, Hall Puckett, Lisa Qualls, Allsion V. Smith, Isaac Smith, Margaret Smithers-Crump, Julie Speed, Earl Staley, Dan Sutherland, Kamila Szczesna, Beth Thomas, Bill Thomas, Frank X. Tolbert 2, Chris Tribble, Arthur Turner, Robin Utterback, Marco Villegas, Dee I. Wolff, and Kyle Young